A new three-tier coronavirus strategy has come into force in England, dividing the country according to Covid-19 infection rate.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said the system will “simplify and standardise” local lockdown rules, with the “medium” alert level set to cover most of the country.

But ministers have warned that each area’s planned restrictions are subject to change, with Communities Secretary Robert Jenrick stressing that ministers mat have to "go further".

What tier is London currently in?

London has been placed under Tier 1 restrictions, meaning it is considered at "medium" risk.

This means no new restrictions will immediately be imposed, with the rule of six and the 10pm curfew remaining in place.

Could this change?

London Mayor Sadiq Khan warned that the capital could be moved upwards “very quickly – potentially even this week”.

In another interview, he said that London will pass the "trigger point" to enter Tier 2 restrictions in the next few days.

A spokesman for Mr Khan said: “The virus is now spreading very quickly in every corner of London.

“The number of cases is rapidly increasing and all the indicators we look at are moving in the wrong direction.

“As of today, London is at ‘medium’ in the Government’s new alert levels. However, Londoners should understand that this could change very quickly – potentially even this week.”

How many cases are there in the capital?

The overall number of new cases in London rose 56 per cent to 7,787 in the week to October 8, according to official figures.

This is up from 4,996 in the previous seven days.

The London-wide average was 78 new cases per 100,000 over that week.

Five boroughs had more than 100 new cases per 100,000 population in the week to October 8 — Richmond, Hackney, Ealing, Redbridge and Harrow.

Ealing in the city’s west was faring worst with 119 new cases while Bexley had the lowest number of new cases at 51.6.

What would it mean if London moves up to Tier 2?

Under Tier 2 restrictions Londoners would face:

  • A ban on mixing between households in homes although support bubbles would still be permitted
  • The rule of six would continue to apply in gardens and other outdoor settings
  • Pubs and restaurants would remain open but the ban on mixing between households indoors would apply to the hospitality sector, which would be a devastating blow to the industry

Which areas are in Tier 1?

London and the rest of England, apart from the places listed in Tier 2 and Tier 3.

Which areas are in Tier 2?

  • Cheshire
  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cheshire East
  • Greater Manchester
  • Manchester
  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan
  • Salford
  • Rochdale
  • Oldham
  • Warrington
  • Warrington
  • Derbyshire
  • High Peak – the wards of Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North
  • Lancashire
  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Preston
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Burnley
  • West Yorkshire
  • Leeds
  • Bradford
  • Kirklees
  • Calderdale
  • Wakefield
  • South Yorkshire
  • Barnsley
  • Rotherham
  • Doncaster
  • Sheffield
  • North East
  • Newcastle
  • South Tyneside
  • North Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Sunderland
  • Durham
  • Northumberland
  • Tees Valley
  • Middlesbrough
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Darlington
  • Hartlepool
  • West Midlands
  • Birmingham
  • Sandwell
  • Solihull
  • Wolverhampton
  • Walsall
  • Leicester
  • Leicester
  • Oadby and Wigston
  • Nottingham
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Nottingham City