Munira Wilson has been elected as the MP for Twickenham after the Liberal Democrats won the seat with 56.1 per cent of the vote and a majority of 14,121.

It was declared early on Friday morning that Ms Wilson will step into Sir Vince Cable's old constituency as the Lib Dem MP after she received 36,166 votes.

The Conservative candidate, Isobel Grant, came in at second place on election night, receiving 22,045 votes.

She was followed by Labour's Ranjeev Walia in third place with 5,476 votes, and Stuart Wells of the Brexit Party in fourth with 816.

The turnout was 76 per cent.