Shadow chancellor John McDonnell won the seat in 2017 with a 37.9.% majority, with 31,796 votes giving him a 66.5% share, up 6.9% on the previous election in 2015.

The constituency voted 58.25% to leave in the EU Referendum. 

Mr McDonnell has held the seat since the 1997 General Election, taking the seat from Conservative Terry Dicks, who he had lost to by just 53 votes five years previously.

Harry Boparai (Brexit Party)

Originally declared as a candidate in Spelthorne, Mr Boparai will contest Hayes and Harlington after Nigel Farage's decision not to fight for Conservative held seats.

He works at Heathrow and is a union representative, plus an active campaigner on Brexit and local issues.


Wayne Bridges (Conservative)

Mr Bridges who was born and raised in Northolt and has been a Hillingdon councillor since 2010.

He is married with a ten- year-old daughter and has worked in the Freight Forwarding Industry for the past 15 years.

He was a vocal voice in the local Vote Leave campaign three years ago.


Alex Cunliffe (Liberal Democrat)

Alex Cunliffe is a barrister by profession, formerly practising as a solicitor in private practice and in industry.

He stood in the council elections in 2006, 2010, 2014, and 2018 as well as the general elections of 2010, 2015 and 2017.  

He has been a vocal critic of the Heathrow expansion and is concerned about the impact on the local community of the construction of HS2.


John McDonnell (Labour)

Born in Liverpool and raised in Norfolk, Mr McDonnell has been active in London politics since he was elected onto the Greater London Council as the member for Hayes and Harlington, becoming MP for the area - at the second attempt - in 1997.

In September 2015, he was appointed Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer by close ally Jeremy Corbyn, leading on the development of Labour’s economic strategy.



The Conservatives have yet to select their prospective parliamentary candidate.

Brexit Party candidate Elizabeth Oyedoyin Babade originally said she would stand in Hayes and Harlington but is now listed as a candidate in Warrington North.

Written by Mariana Viveiros and Michael Phillips

Information correct November 7

All candidates wishing to stand in the election must have submitted their nomination papers by 4pm on November 14. The final confirmed candidate list will be published on November 16.

The deadline for registering to vote is midnight November 26. Find out more here.