A councillor who was sacked from the cabinet just five months ago has made a return to the top table.

Cllr Zena Brabazon has been confirmed as Haringey Council’s new deputy leader and cabinet member for children and families.

Cllr Brabazon was sacked from cabinet on New Year’s Eve by council leader Cllr Joseph Ejiofor, who said he wanted to end “persistent personal conflicts” and build a cabinet that worked together more closely.

But the Harringay ward councillor will now serve as Cllr Ejiofor’s deputy after being elected to the position during the Haringey Labour Group’s recent annual general meeting.

Cllr Brabazon – who narrowly lost out to Cllr Ejiofor in a leadership bid after last year’s local elections – takes over as cabinet member for children and families from Cllr Elin Weston.

The previous deputy leader, Cllr Emina Ibrahim, held on to her position as cabinet member for housing and estate renewal.

Several other changes to the cabinet were confirmed at yesterday’s (Monday, May 20) annual council meeting.

Cllr Noah Tucker will no longer serve on Haringey’s cabinet, and the position he held – cabinet member for corporate services and insourcing – has been removed.

Following Cllr Patrick Berryman’s resignation as cabinet member for finance in March, his portfolio has been merged with strategic regeneration and will now be overseen by Cllr Charles Adje.

White Hart Lane councillor Cllr Gideon Bull has been appointed to the new position of cabinet member for local investment and economic growth.

And Cllr Seema Chandwani, who represents West Green, has been given the newly created position of cabinet member for neighbourhoods.

The full details of Haringey’s new cabinet are as follows:

Cllr Joseph Ejiofor – Leader of the Council

Cllr Zena Brabazon – Children and Families

Cllr Sarah James – Adults and Health

Cllr Kirsten Hearn – Climate Change and Sustainability

Cllr Mark Blake – Communities and Equalities

Cllr Kaushika Amin – Corporate and Civic Services

Cllr Charles Adje – Finance and Strategic Regeneration

Cllr Emina Ibrahim – Housing and Estate Renewal

Cllr Gideon Bull – Local Investment and Economic Growth

Cllr Seema Chandwani – Neighbourhoods